Photo: Frank Schemmann

Sofia Jernberg

(SE)

Sofia Jernberg (born 1983 in Ethiopia) is a Swedish soprano, vocal artist, improviser and composer. As a true cosmopolitan she is equally at home in avant-garde jazz and improvised music, as well as contemporary New Music. Jernberg has embarked on the self-imposed task of intensively exploring a voice’s instrumental possibilities, breaking down traditional genre boundaries and radically expanding them.

Sofia Jernberg is one of the so-called Third Culture Kids. Following her childhood years in Ethiopia, she spent four years in Vietnam, attending the International School of Vietnam in Hanoi. At the age of ten in Sweden, she discovered her interest in sounds well beyond western music traditions and began to immerse herself into the works of Sidsel Endresen and Diamanda Galás.

Jernberg is known for her unique and exceptional vocal repertoire which includes sounds and techniques often contradicting conventional vocal styles, such as in-depth study of nonverbal vocalizations, split tone singing or guttural distortion as well as voiceless singing.
Jernberg studied jazz music at the Fridhems Folk High School in Sweden and at the Gotland School of Music Composition (with Per Mårtensson and Henrik Strindberg). She is capable of wilfully using her voice as a multi-faceted instrument, cultivating an individual repertoire of sounds and eccentric techniques for which she received the 2008 Jazz Award by the Royal Swedish Academy of Music.

Read more

Photo: Frank Schemmann

Sofia Jernberg (SE)

The Dreams Of Our Future

Sofia Jernberg_comp, voc
Ariadne Greif_voc
Eivind Lønning_tp
Mette Rasmussen_sax
Mats Gustafsson_sax
Eva Lindal_vl
Anna Lindal_vl
Cory Smythe_p
Ole Morten Vågan_b
Raymond Strid_dr
& Kinderchor

Ein brandneues Projekt von Sofia Jernberg, das Träume von Kindern in Texte verwandelt und diese Texte von den Kindern selbst im Chor singen lässt, musikalisch begleitet von einem Who’s Who der skandinavischen Improvisationsszene. Eine Auftragskomposition der Monheim Triennale und des Ultima Oslo Contemporary Music Festival, mit Unterstützung des Arts Council Norway.

Four አራት

Sofia Jernberg_voc
Samuel Yirga_p
Ole Morten Vågan_b
Andreas Werliin_dr

Beide sind in Äthiopien aufgewachsen, bewegen sich aber in verschiedenen Genres: Der neue Star des Ethio-Jazz Samuel Yirga trifft zum ersten Mal auf die Gesangs-Virtuosin Sofia Jernberg.

Über Sofia Jernberg

Die schwedische Sopranistin, Stimmkünstlerin, Improvisatorin und Komponistin Sofia Jernberg, geboren 1983 in Äthiopien, ist als Weltbürgerin im Avantgarde-Jazz und der improvisierten Musik genauso beheimatet wie in der zeitgenössischen Neuen Musik. Jernberg hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die instrumentalen Möglichkeiten der Stimme weithin zu erforschen und dabei die traditionellen Genregrenzen aufzubrechen und radikal zu erweitern.

Sofia Jernberg zählt zu den sogenannten Third Culture Kids. Nach ersten Lebensjahren in Äthiopien verbrachte sie vier Jahre in Vietnam, wo sie die International School of Vietnam in Hanoi besuchte; in Schweden entdeckte sie bereits im Alter von zehn Jahren ihr Interesse an Klängen fernab westlicher Musiktraditionen und begann sich intensiv mit den Arbeiten von Sidsel Endresen und Diamanda Galás zu beschäftigen.

Jernberg ist bekannt für ihr ganz eigenes, außergewöhnliches Gesangsvokabular, das Klänge und Techniken umfasst, die oft einem konventionellen Gesangsstil widersprechen, wie in etwa durch eingehende Studien nonverbaler Vokalisierung, des Split-Tone-Gesangs oder des guttural verzerrten wie auch stimmlosen Gesangs.
Jernberg, die Jazz an der Fridhems Folk High School in Schweden und (bei Per Mårtensson und Henrik Strindberg) an der Gotland School of Music Composition studiert hat, gelingt es, ihre Stimme als facettenreiches Instrument zu navigieren und so eine individuelle Palette an Klängen und exzentrischen Techniken zu kultivieren –was ihr 2008 die Auszeichnung mit dem Jazz-Preis der Royal Swedish Academy of Music einbrachte.

Weiter lesen