Photo: Mimi Chakarova

Kris Davis (US)

Mother/Country

Kris Davis_p
Mimi Chakarova_film
Ingrid Laubrock_sax
& festival Artists

A brand new collaboration between Kris Davis and Bulgarian filmmaker Mimi Chakarova on a special project - a 45 minute silent film dedicated to social justice set to music by Kris Davis’ compositions played by artists from the festival program.

Kris Davis & Ingrid Laubrock

Kris Davis_p
Ingrid Laubrock_sax
Having collaborated together on many different projects over the years, these both exceptional New York-based musicians have played as a duo constellation since 2013 and released their first duo album in 2019 featuring compositions from both players. Sensitive interplay and instinct for risky exploration in an ultra-modern jazz context allow their compositions to develop completely open to results.

About Kris Davis

Kris Davis (born in 1980 in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada) is a pianist, composer and educator who has been based in New York for the past 18 years. An astounding and dynamic artist, shockingly fluid and equally compelling within multiple musical idioms, Kris has made an indelible mark on the New York creative music scene, and in the global jazz community over the past decade.

Kris was named 2017 Rising Star Pianist in Downbeat magazine and dubbed a top up-and-coming artist in a 2012 New York Times article titled “New Pilots at the Keyboard,” recommending that: “One method for deciding where to hear jazz on a given night has been to track down the pianist Kris Davis”.

To date, Davis has released eleven recordings as bandleader. Her 2018 duo album “Octopus” inspired Michael J. Agovino of Village Voice to comment "... no two pianists have played with the kind of freedom and grace, abandon and emotion as Kris Davis and Craig Taborn on their new album, Octopus…” Her 2016 release, “Duopoly”, made it into The New York Times, Pop Matters, NPR, LA Times, and onto the Jazz Times best albums of 2016 list.

Read more

Photo: Mimi Chakarova

Kris Davis (US)

Mother/Country

Kris Davis_p
Mimi Chakarova_film
Ingrid Laubrock_sax
& Festivalkünstlerinnen und -Künstler

Ein ganz besonderes Projekt ist die brandneue Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kris Davis und der bulgarischen Filmemacherin Mimi Chakarova - ein 45-minütiger Stummfilm über soziale Gerechtigkeit wird von Kris Davis in Kompositionen vertont und von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus dem Festivalprogramm live gespielt.

Kris Davis & Ingrid Laubrock

Kris Davis_p
Ingrid Laubrock_sax

Diese beiden herausragenden Musikerinnen mit Wohnsitz in New York haben bereits in vielen verschiedenen Projekten miteinander gearbeitet. Im Duo spielen sie seit 2013, allerdings veröffentlichten sie erst 2019 ihr erstes Duo-Album. Ein sensibles Zusammenspiel mit dem Instinkt für risikofreudiges Erkunden, eingebettet in einen hochmodernen Jazz-Kontext.

Über Kris Davis

Kris Davis (geb. 1980 in Vancouver, Kanada) ist eine Pianistin, Komponistin und Dozentin. Eine erstaunliche und dynamische Künstlerin, schockierend flüssig, die sich gleichermaßen überzeugend diverser musikalischer Idiome bedient. Davis, die seit 18 Jahren in New York lebt und arbeitet, hat in den letzten zehn Jahren unauslöschliche Spuren in der New Yorker Kreativmusikszene sowie der Jazz-Community auf der ganzen Welt hinterlassen.

Das Downbeat Magazine kürte Davis 2017 zum „Rising Star Pianist“ und der New York Times-Artikel „New Pilots at the Keyboard“ von 2012 betitelte sie als einer der Top-Up-and-Coming-Musikerinnen mit der Empfehlung: „Eine Methode zum Entscheiden, wo man an einem Abend zum Jazz hören hingehen soll, ist einfach nach der Pianistin Kris Davis zu suchen.“

Bis dato hat Davis elf Aufnahmen als Bandleaderin veröffentlicht. Ihr Duo-Album „Octopus“ von 2018 inspirierte Michael J. Agovino von Village Voice zu dem Kommentar „... kein anderes Klavierduo hat jemals mit dieser Art von Freiheit und Anmut, Ungezwungenheit und Emotion gespielt, wie Kris Davis und Craig Taborn auf ihrem neuen Album „Octopus“...“ Ihre Veröffentlichung „Duopoly“ 2016 schaffte es in die New York Times, in Pop Matters, NPR, LA Times und auf die Liste der besten Alben des Jahres 2016 in der Jazz Times.

Weiter lesen