Photo: Santiago de Hoyos

Julia Úlehla (US)

Dálava

Julia Úlehla_voc
Aram Bajakian_git
Peggy Lee_cello
Dylan van der Schyff_dr
James Meger_b
Tyson Naylor_acc, keyb

Paying homage to 100-year-old folksongs from Moravia that were written down by Julia Úlehla’s great-grandfather, this group of Vancouver-based improvisors develop their own incredibly intense, touching, stirring, gripping, progressive jazz and post-rock versions of his songs.

Bios and Zoe

Julia Úlehla_voc
Aram Bajakian_git

Julia Úlehla and Aram Bajakian create live music accompanying two films by Julia’s
great-grandfather – biologist and music ethnologist Vladimír Úlehla. A meditation on the
vitality which brings life to the earth is created through real-time interaction with the life
forms on screen.

About Julia Úlehla

Julia Úlehla (born in 1978, Knoxville, USA) is a vocalist, composer, actress and ethnomusicologist. She grew up in Tennessee with a Czech refugee-émigré father and Cherokee-Welsh mother. Úlehla received formal training in opera and other Western art music forms at Stanford University and the Eastman School of Music. She became a resident actress with the renowned laboratory theatre Workcenter of Jerzy Grotowski and Thomas Richards in Pontedera, Italy, where she co-devised four performative opuses which toured extensively across Europe and North America.

In 2011, Úlehla relocated to New York City, where she and her husband, guitarist Aram Bajakian, initiated a new line of performance research based on the ancestral song tradition of her father’s lineage, sourcing folk songs that were collected and transcribed by her great-grandfather, biologist Vladimír Úlehla. The result was the creation of Dálava, a project that lies at the nexus of ritual and performance, evoking the liminal intensity of layered temporalities and the conjuring of ancestral presences. Dálava is often described as shamanic and primordial. It is lauded as one of the most intensely dynamic and electrifying bands in Vancouver, where the couple have recently moved, as Úlehla is currently completing a PhD in ethnomusicology at the University of British Columbia. Her publications include an English translation of Chapter VI of her great-grandfather’s book “Živá píseň” (Living Song, 1949).

Read more

Photo: Santiago de Hoyos

Julia Úlehla (US)

Dálava

Julia Úlehla_voc
Aram Bajakian_git
Josh Zubot_vl
Peggy Lee_cello
Dylan van der Schyff_dr
James Meger_b
Tyson Naylor_acc, keyb

Als Hommage an die 100 Jahre alten Volkslieder aus Mähren, die von Julia Úlehlas Urgroßvater aufgeschrieben wurden, entwickelt diese Gruppe von Improvisatorinnen und Improvisatoren aus Vancouver ihre eigenen unglaublich intensiven, berührenden, mitreißenden, packenden, progressiven Jazz- und Post-Rock-Versionen dieser Songs.

Über Julia Úlehla

Julia Úlehla (geb. 1978 in Knoxville, USA) ist Sängerin, Komponistin, Ethnomusikologin und Schauspielerin. Die Tochter eines tschechischen Einwanderers und einer Cherokee-walisischen Mutter kam in den Genuss einer Ausbildung als Opernsängerin und studierte auch andere westliche Musikkunstgenres an der Stanford University und der Eastman School of Music. Schließlich arbeitete sie dann als Resident-Schauspielerin am renommierten Labortheater „Workcenter“ von Jerzy Grotowski und Thomas Richards in Pontedera, Italien, wo sie an der Kreation vier performativer Opernstücke mitwirkte, die vielfach in Europa und Nordamerika aufgeführt wurden.

Im Jahr 2011 zog Julia Úlehla nach New York City, wo sie und ihr Ehemann, der Gitarrist Aram Bajakian, eine neue Art von Performance initiierten, der sie die Analyse der überlieferten Gesangstraditionen anhand der von ihrem tschechischen Urgroßvater, dem Biologen Vladimír Úlehla, gesammelten und transkribierten Volkslieder zugrunde legten. Es resultierte in der Gründung von Dálava, einem Projekt der Verbindung von Ritual und Performance, das die Intensitätsschwelle von Vergänglichkeitsebenen auslotet und das Anrufen einer Ahnenpräsenz heraufbeschwört. Dálava wird oft als schamanisch und primordial beschrieben und als eine der am meisten dynamischen und elektrisierenden Bands in ihrer neuen Wahlheimat Vancouver gepriesen. Dort wohnt das Paar seit Úlehla an der University of British Columbia in Ethnomusikwissenschaft promoviert; unter ihren Veröffentlichungen ist auch eine englische Übersetzung des VI. Kapitels aus dem Buch „Živá píseň“ (Lebendes Lied, 1949) ihres Urgroßvaters.

Weiter lesen