Photo: Frank Schemmann

Ava Mendoza (US)

Unnatural Ways

Ava Mendoza_git
Tim Dahl_b
Sam Ospovat_dr

With ‘Unnatural Ways’ Ava Mendoza has developed a deeply personal, raw and strong sound.
In their unpredictable live shows, her trio pushes the boundaries of notated music to its musical
origins in noise rock, free jazz and metal.

Ava Mendoza & Tatsuya Yoshida

Ava Mendoza_git
Tatsuya Yoshida_dr

A member of the renowned progressive rock duo Ruins, and undoubtedly one of the most important drummers to come out of the Japanese avant-rock scene, Tatsuya Yoshida has been invited by New York City guitar-immolator Ava Mendoza for their first ever encounter on stage.

About Ava Mendoza

Ava Mendoza (born in 1983, Miami, Florida) grew up in Orange County, California. The now Brooklyn-based experimental guitarist, vocalist and composer has received acclaim for her technique and visceral approach. Most recently, Mendoza leads her experimental rock band Unnatural Ways, as well as performing solo.

She originally studied classical guitar, before becoming more interested in rock music, punk, and no wave. Soon, she was abusing electric guitars. “I played in rock bands – punk bands that had free sections and were into improvising,” she says. “I think that was part of how I learned to play on electric. Plus, I was always still studying Ornette Coleman and Albert Ayler, trying to figure out how they constructed their lines.”

Later, Mendoza settled in Oakland, California where she was pivotal to the local music scene. Along with former Flying Luttenbachers chief Weasel Walter, she helped shepherd Oakland’s free-improvisation and noise scene, as well as collaborating with Nels Cline, Henry Kaiser and Fred Frith.

Mendoza has toured throughout the US and Europe, recording or performing with musicians that include Carla Bozulich, Fred Frith, Mick Barr, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Mike Watt, Matana Roberts, Ikue Mori, Matt Mitchell, Adele Bertei, William Hooker, Jon Irabagon, and the Violent Femmes.

Read more

Photo: Frank Schemmann

Ava Mendoza (US)

Unnatural Ways

Ava Mendoza_git
Tim Dahl_b
Sam Ospovat_dr

Ava Mendoza hat mit „Unnatural Ways“ einen zutiefst persönlichen, rohen und starken Sound entwickelt. Dieses Trio verschiebt in seinen unvorhersehbaren Live-Shows die Grenzen von notierter Musik hin zu ihren musikalischen Ursprüngen aus Noise Rock, Free Jazz und Metal.

Ava Mendoza & Tatsuya Yoshida

Ava Mendoza_git
Tatsuya Yoshida_dr

Tatsuya Yoshida, Mitglied des renommierten Progressive-Rock-Duos Ruins und zweifellos einer der wichtigsten Schlagzeuger der japanischen Avant-Rock-Szene, ist von New Yorks Gitarrengenie Ava Mendoza zu ihrem allerersten Aufeinandertreffen eingeladen worden.

Über Ava Mendoza

Ava Mendoza (geb. 1983 in Miami, USA) ist in Orange County, Kalifornien aufgewachsen. Heute lebt und arbeitet sie als experimentelle Gitarristin, Sängerin und Komponistin in Brooklyn und ist für ihre Technik und ihr intuitiven musikalischen Ansatz bekannt. Zu ihrem jüngsten Oeuvre gehört die Arbeit als Bandleaderin der experimentellen Rockband „Unnatural Ways“ und ihre Solo-Performances mit Gitarre und Gesang.

Eigentlich lernte Ava Mendoza klassische Gitarre, als sie begann, sich mehr für Rockmusik, Punk und No Wave zu interessieren. Schon bald darauf entlockte sie ihrer E-Gitarre alles andere als einen klassischen Sound. „Ich spielte in Rockbands bzw. Punk Bands, in denen streckenweise frei gespielt wurde und die sich für Improvisation interessierten“, sagt sie. „Ich denke, das trug dazu bei wie ich E-Gitarre spielen lernte. Zusätzlich habe ich immer noch Ornette Coleman und Albert Ayler studiert und versuchte herauszufinden, wie sie ihre Notenlinien konstruierten.“

Später ließ sich Ava Mendoza im kalifornischen Oakland nieder, wo sie schnell zum festen Bestandteil der örtlichen Musikszene wurde. Zusammen mit dem ehemaligen Kopf der Flying Luttenbachers, Weasel Walter, unterstützte sie Oaklands freie Improvisations- und Noise-Szene. In dieser Zeit arbeitete sie auch mit Nels Cline, Henry Kaiser und Fred Frith zusammen. 

Weiter lesen