„Leda“ by Markus Lüpertz
„Leda“ by Markus Lüpertz, Photo: Jack Kulcke

About Monheim

Monheim am Rhein - a completely normal small town? Located between Düsseldorf and Cologne, the city on the Rhine is indeed a pearl. Since 2013, the city has been debt-free and is continuously investing in family, infrastructure and culture: no fees for daycare centres, bike paths in preference to roads, free WiFi and, from April 2020, free local public transport for Monheim residents.

Monheim am Rhein has more than 43,000 inhabitants, about two thirds of whom live in the Monheim district and one third in the Baumberg district.

Monheim am Rhein is...

... City of music
A heart of the city of Monheim am Rhein is the music school. Thanks to the "Monheim Model Music School for All!" all children receive intensive music lessons in the primary school. And there is also a music triennial...

... Capital for children
Besides the children, young adults are also supported by the city. All Monheim residents aged between 18 and 20 have the opportunity to apply for a free Interrail Pass.

... City of Culture
The largest cultural organizer is the Monheimer Kulturwerke with more than 115 cultural events annually in the areas of theatre, comedy, cabaret, music, readings and open-air festivals. The cultural landscape cannot be imagined without the socio-cultural centre Sojus 7 - one of the venues of the Triennale - the Ulla-Hahn-Haus, the Volkshochschule, the scene meeting place "Spielmann" and many other cultural places. Furthermore, the Monheim carnival culture is loved and lived. Art also plays a major role in Monheim: Inside, the art school mediates, outside, the public space is constantly being expanded to present art as an essential element of the city's culture. The sculpture "Leda" by Markus Lüpertz, an homage to the city symbol, the „Gänseliesel“ (goose girl), was inaugurated in September 2019 and caused a great stir. Other works of art are the sculpture "Cry for Freedom" by Saman Hidayat and the project "Haste Töne" by the artist’s quartet "Inges Idee": a giant record player in a roundabout. In October 2020, the "Monheimer Geysir", designed by Swiss artist Thomas Stricker, will be inaugurated on a traffic circle on the banks of the Rhine in Monheim. For the future the artwork "Dancing Houses" by Timm Ulrichs is planned.

... Bike City

... Fair Trade City

... Smart City
Since 2016, the city has been constantly working on its efficiency. Among other things, free WLAN has already been introduced throughout the city.

.... City of good food
A good overview of the delicacies of Monheim am Rhein (and other interesting facts) can be found on the website "discover Monheim am Rhein".

... Business City
The drastic reduction of the trade tax rate from 2009 onwards made the city debt-free. Monheim am Rhein now has the lowest trade tax rates in North Rhine-Westphalia. As a result, more and more companies are settling in the city.

... Join-in Town
On a participation portal set up by the city, it is possible for Monheim residents to participate in planning and get involved in city life.

A free map of the city of Monheim am Rhein can be found here.

Read more

„Leda“ von Markus Lüpertz
„Leda“ von Markus Lüpertz, Photo: Jack Kulcke

Über Monheim

Monheim am Rhein – eine ganz normale Kleinstadt? Zwischen Düsseldorf und Köln liegend, ist die Stadt am Rhein tatsächlich eine Perle. Seit 2013 ist die Stadt schuldenfrei und investiert kontinuierlich in Familie, Infrastruktur und Kultur: keine Gebühren für Kitas, Fahrradwege vor Autostraßen, freies WLAN und ab April 2020 kostenlosen Nahverkehr für Monheimerinnen und Monheimer.

Monheim am Rhein hat mehr als 43.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner, die sich zu etwa zwei Dritteln auf den Stadtteil Monheim und zu einem Drittel auf den Stadtteil Baumberg verteilen.

Monheim am Rhein ist...

... Stadt der Musik
Ein Herzstück der Stadt Monheim am Rhein ist die Musikschule. Dank dem „Monheimer Modell-Musikschule für alle!“ bekommen alle Kinder intensiven Musikschulunterricht in der Grundschule. Und eine Musik-Triennale gibt es auch ...

... Hauptstadt für Kinder
Neben den Kindern werden auch junge Erwachsene von der Stadt gefördert. Alle Monheimerinnen und Monheimer im Alter von 18 bis 20 Jahren haben die Möglichkeit, einen kostenlosen Interrail-Pass zu beantragen.

... Kulturstadt
Größter Kulturveranstalter sind die Monheimer Kulturwerke mit jährlich mehr als 115 Kulturveranstaltungen aus den Bereichen Theater, Comedy, Kabarett, Musik, Lesungen und Open-Air-Festivals. Nicht mehr wegzudenken aus der Kulturlandschaft sind zudem das soziokulturelle Zentrum Sojus 7 - eine der Spielstätten der Triennale - das Ulla-Hahn-Haus, die Volkshochschule, der Szene-Treff „Spielmann“ sowie viele weitere Kulturorte. Geliebt und gelebt wird darüber hinaus die Monheimer Karnevalskultur. Auch die Kunst spielt in Monheim eine große Rolle: Im Innern vermittelt die Kunstschule, nach außen wird der öffentliche Raum stetig ausgebaut, um Kunst als wesentliches Element der Stadtkultur zu präsentieren. Für großes Aufsehen sorgte die im September 2019 eingeweihte Skulptur „Leda“ von Markus Lüpertz, eine Hommage an das Wahrzeichen der Stadt, die Gänseliesel. Weitere Kunstwerke sind die Skulptur „Schrei nach Freiheit“ von Saman Hidayat und das Projekt „Haste Töne“ des Künstlerquartetts „Inges Idee“: ein riesengroßer Plattenspieler in einem Kreisverkehr. Im Oktober 2020 wird der "Monheimer Geysir", entworfen vom Schweizer Künstler Thomas Stricker, auf einem Kreisverkehr am Monheimer Rheinufer eingeweiht. Für die Zukunft ist das Kunstwerk „Tanzende Häuser“ von Timm Ulrichs geplant.

... Fahrradstadt

... Fairtradestadt

... Smart City
Seit 2016 arbeitet die Stadt stetig an ihrer Effizienz. Bereits eingeführt wurde unter anderem gratis WLAN im gesamten Stadtgebiet.

.... Stadt des guten Essens
Einen guten Überblick der Köstlichkeiten Monheim am Rheins (und anderes Wissenswerte) bietet die Webseite Monheim am Rhein entdecken.

... Wirtschaftsstadt
Durch die drastische Senkung des Gewerbesteuersatzes ab 2009 wurde die Stadt schuldenfrei. Monheim am Rhein hat nun die niedrigsten Gewerbesteuerhebesätze in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Als Folge siedeln sich immer mehr Unternehmen in der Stadt an.

... Mitmachstadt
Auf einem von der Stadt eingerichteten Mitmachportal ist es für Monheimerinnen und Monheimer möglich, selbst mit zu planen und sich ins Stadtgeschehen einzubringen.

Eine kostenlose Map der Stadt Monheim am Rhein gibt es
hier.

Weiter lesen