The Venues

Imagine a place where music is coming into existence. What would it look like? We’ve asked this question ourselves - and brought to life a large festival site, which could not be more diverse: From ship to industrial hall, from chapel to socio-cultural centre, right at the most magical place in the city - the bank of the Rhine River in Monheim.

The future „Kulturraffinerie K714“
The future „Kulturraffinerie K714“, Photo: Monheimer Kulturwerke

K714

Main venue is the Kulturraffinerie K714, an industrial monument from the 19th century. The building was formerly used as an oil barrel filling plant and later as a warehouse. One day after the Triennial will be finished, the conversion to a state-of-the-art, multifunctional event hall will begin. The opening is planned for 2023.

For the Triennale 2020 we use this moment before reconstruction, between old and new, "what was" and "what will be", when the past sounds still echo and mixes with the future. An atmosphere in which anything can happen - a place of origin for music that has never been heard like this before.

Rheinpromenade
40789 Monheim am Rhein

Animation MS RheinGalaxie
Animation MS RheinGalaxie, Photo: KD Deutsche Rheinschiffahrt GmbH

MS RheinGalaxie

The MS RheinGalaxie, Cologne-Düsseldorf German Rhine Navigation's (KD) most modern event ship, will be launched in May 2020. 85 metres long and 14 metres wide, the new event venue offers space for concerts of the Monheim Triennale.

As a floating stage, the venue dissolves the visual border between water and land and includes the Rhine as part of the Monheim Festival Mile. For the opening, the venue offers a unique opportunity to combine the sounds of water with the Monheim atmosphere and the "new" - the innovative music of the artists.

Sojus 7 (Jonny Glut 2019)
Sojus 7 (Jonny Glut 2019), Photo: Sojus 7

Sojus 7

The „Sojus 7“ is a voluntary operated socio-cultural centre in Monheim am Rhein. Formerly a beetroot factory, the cultural meeting place now pulsates as an interface between different music genres and events.

A place of encounter that means it honestly. Constantly changing, it changes its face every hour, by those who listen carefully: "Paint me. Paste me. Hang your posters where you like it. Fill me with your interests, your music. I don't care who you are, how old you are. You are welcome..."

Kapellenstr. 38
40789 Monheim am Rhein
www.sojus.de
Facebook

Interior of Marienkapelle
Interior of Marienkapelle

Marienkapelle

In 1418 the „Marienkapelle“ was built of wood and replaced in 1514 by a late gothic chapel made of stone. For centuries, it was considered a landmark of the town of Monheim, visible from far away. A lot has happened during this time: Directly on the Rhine, the church not only survived every flood, but also both world wars without damage.

How does a small stone house survive 500 years of history? The „Marienkapelle“ does not reveal its secret, nor the prayers, memories, worries and wishes of the people who have entrusted themselves to it. Who knows, perhaps it will open itself to music?

An d'r Kapell
40789 Monheim am Rhein

Deusser Haus
Deusser Haus, Photo: Stadt Monheim

Deusser Garten

The famous painter August Deusser once lived in the "Deusser House". He got his inspiration from the adjacent garden. Today the house documents the 1800-year history of Monheim am Rhein. Deusser's drawings of the „Marienkapelle“ and the former Gethmann cabbage factory (now Sojus 7) show how present these places were even then.

Music, dance, joy and togetherness. The grass tickles under your feet, the blue sky frames the surrounding trees. The garden is a place of art - and of making music together.

An d'r Kapell 2
40789 Monheim am Rhein

Die Spielstätten

Stellen Sie sich einen Ort vor, an dem neue Musik entsteht. Wie würde dieser aussehen? Diese Frage haben wir uns auch gestellt – und ein einziges großes Festivalgelände zum Leben erweckt, was diverser nicht sein könnte: Von Schiff über Industriehalle, von Kapelle bis zu soziokulturellem Zentrum, alles fußläufig erreichbar und direkt am magischsten Ort der Stadt – dem Monheimer Rheinufer.

Die zukünftige „Kulturraffinerie K714“
Die zukünftige „Kulturraffinerie K714“, Photo: Monheimer Kulturwerke

K714

Hauptspielort ist die Kulturraffinerie K714, ein Industriedenkmal aus dem 19. Jahrhundert. Das Gebäude wurde früher als Fassabfüllanlage und später als Lagerhalle genutzt. Einen Tag nachdem die Triennale beendet sein wird beginnt der Umbau zu einer hochmodernen, multifunktionalen Veranstaltungshalle. Die Eröffnung ist für 2023 geplant.

Wir nutzen für die Triennale 2020 diesen Moment vor Umbau, zwischen alt und neu, „was war“ und „was wird“, wenn die vergangenen Klänge noch hallen und sich Vergangenheit mit Zukunft vermischen. Eine Atmosphäre, in der alles passieren kann – ein Entstehungsort für Musik, die so vorher noch nie gehört wurde.

Rheinpromenade
40789 Monheim am Rhein

Animation MS RheinGalaxie
Animation MS RheinGalaxie, Photo: KD Deutsche Rheinschiffahrt GmbH

MS RheinGalaxie

Im Mai 2020 wird die MS RheinGalaxie, das modernste Eventschiff der „Köln-Düsseldorfer Rheinschiffahrt“, vom Stapel laufen. 85 Meter lang und 14 Meter breit bietet die neue Eventspielstätte Platz für Konzerte der Monheim Triennale.

Die Spielstätte löst als schwimmende Bühne die visuelle Grenze zwischen Wasser und Land auf und schließt den Rhein als Teil der Monheimer Festivalmeile mit ein. Zur Eröffnung bietet der Ort eine einmalige Möglichkeit, die Klänge des Wassers mit der Monheimer Atmosphäre und dem „Neuen“, der innovativen Musik der Künstlerinnen und Künstler zu verbinden.

Sojus 7 (Jonny Glut 2019)
Sojus 7 (Jonny Glut 2019), Photo: Sojus 7

Sojus 7

Das Sojus 7 ist ein ehrenamtlich betriebenes soziokulturelles Zentrum in Monheim am Rhein. Ehemals eine Rübenkrautfabrik, pulsiert der Kultur-Treffpunkt nun als Schnittstelle verschiedener Musikgenres und Veranstaltungen.

Ein Ort der Begegnung, der es ehrlich meint. Ständig im Wandel, verändert er stündlich sein Gesicht, durch die, die genau zuhören: "Mal mich an. Beklebe mich. Hänge deine Plakate dahin, wo es dir gefällt. Fülle mich mit deinen Interessen, deiner Musik. Mir ist egal, wer du bist, wie alt du bist. Du bist willkommen ..."

Kapellenstr. 38
40789 Monheim am Rhein
www.sojus.de
Facebook

Innenraum der Marienkapelle
Innenraum der Marienkapelle, Photo: Rabanus Flavus

Marienkapelle

1418 wurde die Marienkapelle aus Holz erbaut und 1514 durch eine spätgotische Kapelle aus Stein ersetzt. Jahrhundertelang galt sie als weithin sichtbares Wahrzeichen der Stadt Monheim. In dieser Zeit ist viel passiert: Direkt am Rhein, hat die Kirche nicht nur jedes Hochwasser, sondern auch beide Weltkriege unbeschadet überstanden.

Wie überlebt ein kleines Häuschen aus Stein 500 Jahre lang Geschichte? Die Marienkapelle verrät weder ihr Geheimnis noch die Gebete, Erinnerungen, Sorgen und Wünsche der Menschen, die sich ihr anvertraut haben. Wer weiß, vielleicht öffnet sie sich der Musik?

An d'r Kapell
40789 Monheim am Rhein

Deusser Haus
Deusser Haus, Photo: Stadt Monheim

Deusser Garten

Im „Deusser-Haus“ wohnte früher der bekannte Maler August Deusser. Seine Inspiration holte er sich aus dem anliegenden Garten. Heute wird im Haus die 1800-jährige Geschichte von Monheim am Rhein dokumentiert. Deussers Zeichnungen der Marienkapelle sowie der damaligen Krautfabrik Gethmann (heute Sojus 7) zeigen wie präsent diese Orte schon damals waren.

Musik, Tanz, Freude und Beisammensein. Das Gras kitzelt unter den Füßen, der blaue Himmel rahmt die umliegenden Bäume ein. Der Garten ein Ort der Kunst – und des gemeinsamen Musizierens.

An d'r Kapell 2
40789 Monheim am Rhein