Festival Design

Mesh Cover 1/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 2/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 3/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 4/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 5/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 6/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 7/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 8/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis

β€œFor us, the Monheim Triennale feels like a movie. A movie in which the director, actors and locations are known, but the story has yet to be told.” β€” Reiner Michalke, director of the Monheim Triennale

For the festival design of the Monheim Triennale we were able to win the Greek graphic artist Vasilis Marmatakis. Marmatakis has created the graphic design for the films of Yorgos Lanthimos "The Lobster" (2015), "The Killing of a Sacred Deer" (2017), "The Favourite" (2018) and "Nimic" (2019), among others.

The design concept is based on visualizing the experience of sound through physical and typographic elements. Vasilis Marmatakis has designed a series of images with patterns like those found on "mesh covers" used to cover loudspeakers. He transferred these patterns of perforated fabric or metal onto solid material and then worked them with ink. The resulting traces visualize the acoustic resonance between source and receiver.

Vasilis Marmatakis made a total of eight different mesh covers for the Monheim Triennale.

About the artist

Vasilis Marmatakis studied graphic design at Camberwell College of Art and the Royal College of Art in London, and he did research at the Jan van Eyck Academie in Maastricht. He worked as an art director in advertising and in 2003 developed the design studio MNP as a co-founder, realizing cross-media projects in print, film, exhibition and web design.

Since 2009 Vasilis Marmatakis has been working as a freelance artist and graphic designer. He also teaches as a guest lecturer at Vakalo Art & Design College in Athens. Among other projects, Marmatakis has designed advertising posters and titles for the films of internationally renowned director and filmmaker Yorgos Lanthimos. Marmatakis' work has been published and presented internationally - including in Holland, Great Britain, Cyprus, Belgium, Germany, Cuba and Austria - as well as winning numerous awards in Greece and abroad. He lives and works in Athens, Greece.

Festivaldesign

Mesh Cover 1/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 2/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 3/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 4/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 5/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 6/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 7/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis
Mesh Cover 8/8 by Vasilis Marmatakis

„Für uns fühlt sich die Monheim Triennale an wie ein Film. Wir kennen die Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler, wir kennen die Drehorte, wir wissen wer Regie führt, aber die Geschichte kennen wir noch nicht.“ — Reiner Michalke, Intendant der Monheim Triennale

Für das Festivaldesign der Monheim Triennale konnten wir den griechischen Grafikkünstler Vasilis Marmatakis gewinnen. Marmatakis hat unter anderem das Grafikdesign für die Filme von Yorgos Lanthimos „The Lobster“ (2015), „The Killing of a Sacred Deer“ (2017), „The Favourite“ (2018) und „Nimic“ (2019) gestaltet.

Das Gestaltungskonzept basiert auf der Visualisierung der Erfahrung von Klang durch physikalische und typografische Elemente. Vasilis Marmatakis hat eine Serie von Bildern mit Mustern entworfen, wie sie auf „Mesh Covern“ zu finden sind, die zur Abdeckung von Lautsprechern verwendet werden. Diese Muster von gelochtem Stoff oder Metall hat er auf festes Material übertragen und anschließend mit Tinte bearbeitet. Die so entstehenden Spuren visualisieren die akustische Resonanz zwischen Quelle und Empfänger.

Vasilis Marmatakis fertigte insgesamt acht verschiedene Mesh Cover für die Monheim Triennale an.

Über den Künstler

Vasilis Marmatakis studierte Grafikdesign am Camberwell College of Art und am Royal College of Art in London und er forschte an der Jan van Eyck Academie in Maastricht. Er war als Art Director im Werbebereich tätig und entwickelte 2003 als Co-Gründer das Designstudio MNP, das medienübergreifend Projekte in den Bereichen Print, Film, Ausstellungs- und Webdesign realisiert.

Seit 2009 ist Vasilis Marmatakis freiberuflich als Künstler und Grafiker tätig. Zudem lehrt er als Gastdozent am Vakalo Art & Design College in Athen. Neben anderen Projekten entwarf Marmatakis Werbeplakate und Titel für die Filme des international bekannten Regisseurs und Filmemachers Yorgos Lanthimos. Marmatakis‘ Arbeiten wurden international veröffentlicht und präsentiert – unter anderem in Holland, Großbritannien, Zypern, Belgien, Deutschland, Kuba und Österreich – sowie mit zahlreichen Preisen in Griechenland und im Ausland ausgezeichnet. Er lebt und arbeitet in Athen, Griechenland.