Livestreams & Recordings

Here you can find all editions of the livestream series with Artist in Residence Achim Tang as well as other recordings of the Monheim Triennale.

Best of Monheim Triennale Livestreams

Friday, 10/16/20, 00:00

With this 'Best of'-special we would like to thank all those involved in these online sessions and share our anticipation of the first Monheim Triennale in 2021 with you. Overall, we aired these sessions for 13 weeks with a total of 16 guests. Among them Sam Amidon, Lakecia Benjamin, Dálava, Kris Davis, Greg Fox, Shabaka Hutchings, Robert Landfermann, Marcus Schmickler, Stian Westerhus, further participating artists such as Kathrin Pechlof, Ingrid Laubrock and Mats Gustafsson as well as the curators Swantje Lichtenstein, Thomas Venker, and the mayor of Monheim am Rhein, Daniel Zimmermann. Not only did it provide us with insights into the process of creating the Monheim Triennale, but also into the everyday lives in different international settings during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Livestream with Shabaka Hutchings

Tuesday, 06/30/20, 19:00

Visit from London: For the live stream on Tuesday, June 30, the saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings came to visit the virtual concert space of the Monheim Triennale.

In recent years Shabaka Hutchings has established himself as a central figure in the London jazz scene. He is the bandleader of both ‘Sons of Kemet’ and ‘Shabaka and the Ancestors’ as well as a member of the trio ‘The Comet Is Coming’ with keyboarder Dan Leavers and drummer Max Hallett.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream with Mayor Daniel Zimmermann

Tuesday, 06/23/20, 19:00

The conversation with theMayor of the City of Monheim am Rhein, Daniel Zimmermann, focused on the principle of the Monheim Triennale as well as the sound production by Marcus Schmickler, which took place in Monheim on July 1th, 2020. Other topics of discussion included cultural education in Monheim am Rhein and the effort to establish art in public spaces as an essential element of Monheim's urban culture.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream with Kris Davis

Tuesday, 06/09/20, 19:00

The New York pianist and composer Kris Davis has visited the live stream of the Monheim Triennale. Davis is the shooting star of the international jazz scene of the last two years: in 2018 she was named Rising Star Artist by DownBeat magazine. Her latest album, Diatom Ribbons, was No. 1 on the 2019 New York Times and NPR Best Jazz Albums lists. The success continues: in 2020, she won the JJA Jazz Award in the categories of Composer and Pianist.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream with Stian Westerhus

Tuesday, 05/26/20, 19:00

For the 10th edition of our live stream series we welcomed the Norwegian guitarist Stian Westerhus. Only recently he had released his latest album Redundance, which was already considered award-worthy in the music press.

We have counted: At that time, we were already able to welcome ten artists in our virtual concert room. Not only global, but also musical borders were overcome - each issue offered a new insight into the different facets of the Triennale artists.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream Concert with Mats Gustafsson

Tuesday, 05/19/20, 19:00

Swedish jazz saxophonist Mats Gustafsson dropped by the virtual concert space for a concert duet with Artist in Residence and bassist Achim Tang.

Mats Gustafsson was invited along with other greats of the Scandinavian improvisation scene for Triennale artist Sofia Jernberg's planned project for the Monheim Triennale 2020.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream talk with Swantje Lichtenstein and Thomas Venker

Tuesday, 05/12/20, 19:00

On Tuesday, May 12th , members of the board of curators of the Monheim Triennale were paying us a visit. For our next talk, our Artist in Residence Achim Tang was pleased to welcome performance artist and professor for aesthetic practices Swantje Lichtenstein as well as Thomas Venker, co-editor-in-chief of Kaput magazine (Magazin für Insolvenz & Pop) and lecturer for music journalism & artist marketing.

How is a festival programme created? What exactly has to be considered in the curating process? Swantje Lichtenstein and Thomas Venker answered Achim Tang's questions - and provide exclusive insights into the selection of Triennale artists. The two of them are not only linked by their activities for the Monheim Triennale, but also by their teaching activities: What has changed in Corona times? How is it still possible to teach art, music, and culture? Where could there be a bridge between the Monheim Triennale and teaching at the university?

Moderation: Achim Tang Artist in Residence

Livestream with Greg Fox

Tuesday, 05/05/20, 19:00

We were very pleased to welcome the drummer Greg Fox to the virtual concert space of the Monheim Triennale. Like Lakecia Benjamin and Ingrid Laubrock, Fox joined us live from New York.

Despite the pandemic, Greg Fox stuck to his plans very successfully: He launched a crowdfunding campaign to finance a public-access recording studio in Brooklyn and also released his new album Contact on May 28, 2020.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream concert with Ingrid Laubrock

Tuesday, 04/28/20, 19:00

A Visit from Brooklyn: For our livestream on Tuesday, 28 April, we were happy to welcome German sax player and composer Ingrid Laubrock at the Monheim Triennale virtual concert space. 
 
Ingrid Laubrock has been living in New York City ever since 2009, just like Triennale artist Kris Davis, with whom she collaborated for many years and with whom she had planned joint projects for the 2020 edition of the Monheim Triennale. In 2019, Ingrid Laubrock also played alongside Triennale artist Robert Landfermann who has been our guest during the previous livestream together with Kathrin Pechlof.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestream concert with Robert Landfermann und Kathrin Pechlof

Tuesday, 04/21/20, 19:00

On Tuesday, April 21, we were pleased to welcome Cologne bassist and Triennale artist Robert Landfermann together with Berlin harpist Kathrin Pechlof in the virtual concert space of the Monheim Triennale.

The special feature: Kathrin Pechlof is part of an impressive project that Robert Landfermann had planned for the first edition of the Monheim Triennale. For this homage to his birthplace Oberwinter, located on the Rhine, Landfermann had assembled an ensemble exclusively for the Monheim Triennale that unites some of the best improvisers in Europe.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream performance with Marcus Schmickler

Tuesday, 04/14/20, 19:00

The show goes on! The guest for our next livestream was Marcus Schmickler, one of the most important composers of contemporary electronic and new music.

On Tuesday, 14 April at 7 pm, the composer went live from his electro-acoustic studio Piethopraxis in Cologne and joined the virtual concert space by the Monheim Triennale. And this time, the audience was actively involved. Marcus Schmickler recommended logging in on several devices simultaneously during the stream and spreading these devices throughout the room. The composer made use of those unavoidable latencies during streaming and created a very special spatial sound as a result.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream talk with Lakecia Benjamin

Tuesday, 04/07/20, 19:00

Sax player Lakecia Benjamin from New York in talk with our ‘Artist in Residence’ Achim Tang. Lakecia Benjamin not only played the saxophone, but also reported from New York's inner city, which suffers the effects by the corona virus like no other major city.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream concert with Julia Úlehla (Dálava)

Tuesday, 03/31/20, 19:00

After the premiere of our live stream concert with Sam Amidon and "Artist in Residence" Achim Tang, we looked forward to welcome the next Triennale artist in the virtual concert room on Tuesday, March 31st. Julia Úlehla, together with guitarist Aram Bajakian, who form the artist duo Dálava, joined Achim Tang live from Vancouver for a live session full of music.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream concert with Sam Amidon

Tuesday, 03/24/20, 19:00

We let the already cancelled concert of Sam Amidon in Monheim am Rhein take place in a special way: Our “Artist in Residence“ Achim Tang gave a live concert together with Sam Amidon.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Livestreams & Aufzeichnungen

Hier finden Sie alle Ausgaben der Livestream-Reihe mit Artist in Residence Achim Tang sowie weitere Aufzeichnungen der Monheim Triennale.

Best of Monheim Triennale Livestreams

Freitag, 16.10.2020, 00:00

Mit diesem "Best of" möchten wir uns bei allen Beteiligten bedanken sowie unsere Vorfreude auf die erste Monheim Triennale im neuen Jahr mit Ihnen teilen. Insgesamt sendeten wir über 13 Wochen mit insgesamt 16 Gästen. Darunter Sam Amidon, Lakecia Benjamin, Dálava, Kris Davis, Greg Fox, Shabaka Hutchings, Robert Landfermann, Marcus Schmickler, Stian Westerhus, weitere mitwirkende Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie Kathrin Pechlof, Ingrid Laubrock und Mats Gustafsson sowie die Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren Swantje Lichtenstein, Thomas Venker und der Bürgermeister von Monheim am Rhein, Daniel Zimmermann. Dabei gab es nicht nur Einblicke in den Entstehungsprozess der Monheim Triennale, sondern auch Ausblicke in den internationalen COVID-19 Alltag.

Live-Stream mit Shabaka Hutchings

Dienstag, 30.06.2020, 19:00

Besuch aus London: Für den Live-Stream am Dienstag, den 30. Juni besuchte der Saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings den virtuellen Konzertraum der Monheim Triennale.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich Shabaka Hutchings als eine zentrale Figur in der Londoner Jazzszene etabliert. Er ist Bandleader bei „Sons of Kemet“, „Shabaka and the Ancestors“ und Mitglied des Trios „The Comet Is Coming“ mit Keyboarder Dan Leavers und Schlagzeuger Max Hallett.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream mit Bürgermeister Daniel Zimmermann

Dienstag, 23.06.2020, 19:00

Im Gespräch mit dem Bürgermeister der Stadt Monheim am Rhein, Daniel Zimmermann, ging es um das Prinzip der Monheim Triennale sowie die Klang-Inszenierung von Marcus Schmickler, die am 1. Juli 2020 in Monheim stattfand. Weitere Gesprächsthemen waren unter anderem kulturelle Bildung in Monheim am Rhein und das Bestreben, Kunst im öffentlichen Raum als wesentliches Element der Monheimer Stadtkultur zu etablieren.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream mit Kris Davis

Dienstag, 09.06.2020, 19:00

Die New Yorker Pianistin und Komponistin Kris Davis war zu Gast im Live-Stream der Monheim Triennale. Davis ist der Shooting Star der internationalen Jazzszene der letzten zwei Jahre: 2018 wurde sie vom DownBeat Magazin zum Rising Star Artist gekürt. Ihr neustes Album Diatom Ribbons war Platz 1 auf den Listen der besten Jazz Alben 2019 der New York Times und des NPR. Der Erfolg geht weiter: 2020 gewann sie den JJA Jazz Award in den Kategorien Komponistin und Pianistin.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream mit Stian Westerhus

Dienstag, 26.05.2020, 19:00

Für die 10. Ausgabe unserer Live-Stream Reihe begrüßten wir den norwegischen Gitarristen Stian Westerhus. Erst vor kurzem hatte er sein neustes Album Redundance veröffentlicht, welches in der Musikpresse bereits als preisverdächtig galt.

Wir haben nachgezählt: Zehn Künstler/-innen durften wir zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits in unserem virtuellen Konzertraum begrüßen. Dabei wurden nicht nur globale, sondern auch musikalische Grenzen überwunden – jede Ausgabe gab es einen neuen Einblick in die verschiedenen Facetten der Triennale Künstler/-innen.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Konzert mit Mats Gustafsson

Dienstag, 19.05.2020, 19:00

Der schwedische Jazz-Saxophonist Mats Gustafsson schaute für ein Konzertduo mit Artist in Residence und Bassist Achim Tang im virtuellen Konzertraum vorbei.

Mats Gustafsson wurde mit anderen Größen der skandinavischen Improvisationsszene für das geplante Projekt von Triennale-Künstlerin Sofia Jernberg für die Monheim Triennale 2020 eingeladen.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Gespräch mit Swantje Lichtenstein und Thomas Venker

Dienstag, 12.05.2020, 19:00

Am Dienstag, den 12. Mai kam Besuch aus dem Kuratorium der Monheim Triennale. Wir freuten uns die Performancekünstlerin und Professorin für Ästhetische Praktiken Swantje Lichtenstein und Thomas Venker, Co-Chefredakteur des Kaput-Magazin für Insolvenz & Pop sowie Lehrender für Musikjournalismus und Künstler/-innen-Marketing im Gespräch mit Artist in Residence Achim Tang begrüßen zu dürfen.

Wie entsteht ein Festivalprogramm? Was genau ist beim Prozess des Kuratierens zu beachten? Swantje Lichtenstein und Thomas Venker stellten sich Achim Tangs Fragen – und lieferten exklusive Einblicke in die Auswahl der Triennale-Künstler/-innen. Nicht nur die Monheim Triennale verbindet die beiden, sondern auch die Tätigkeit in der Lehre: Was hat sich verändert zu Corona-Zeiten, wie ist ein Unterricht im Bereich Kunst, Musik und Kultur überhaupt noch möglich? Wo könnte es eine Brücke zwischen der Monheim Triennale und der Lehre an der Universität geben?

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream mit Greg Fox

Dienstag, 05.05.2020, 19:00

Für den Live-Stream am Dienstag, den 5. Mai, freuten wir uns den Schlagzeuger Greg Fox im virtuellen Konzertraum der Monheim Triennale begrüßen zu dürfen. Wie bereits Lakecia Benjamin und Ingrid Laubrock schaltete Fox sich live aus New York dazu.

Trotz der Pandemie hielt Greg Fox an seinen Plänen fest, und das sogar sehr erfolgreich: Er startete eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne, um ein öffentlich zugängliches Tonstudio in Brooklyn zu finanzieren und veröffentlichte am 28. Mai 2020 sein neues Album Contact.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Konzert mit Ingrid Laubrock

Dienstag, 28.04.2020, 19:00

Besuch aus Brooklyn: Für den Live-Stream am Dienstag, den 28. April, freuten wir uns die deutsche Saxophonistin und Komponistin Ingrid Laubrock im virtuellen Konzertraum der Monheim Triennale begrüßen zu dürfen. 

Bereits seit 2009 lebt die Improvisatorin in New York City – genau wie Triennale Künstlerin Kris Davis, mit der sie eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit verbindet und mit der sie für die Monheim Triennale 2020 gemeinsame Projekte geplant hatte. Ingrid Laubrock spielte zudem 2019 an der Seite von Triennale Künstler Robert Landfermann, der zusammen mit Kathrin Pechlof im vorherigen Live-Stream unser Gast war. 

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Konzert mit Robert Landfermann und Kathrin Pechlof

Dienstag, 21.04.2020, 19:00

Am Dienstag, den 21. April durften wir den Kölner Bassisten und Triennale Künstler Robert Landfermann zusammen mit der Berliner Harfenistin Kathrin Pechlof im virtuellen Konzertraum der Monheim Triennale begrüßen.

Das Besondere: Kathrin Pechlof ist Teil eines beeindruckenden Projekts, das Robert Landfermann für die erste Ausgabe der Monheim Triennale geplant hatte. Für die Hommage an seinen am Rhein gelegenen Geburtsort Oberwinter hatte Landfermann exklusiv für die Monheim Triennale ein Ensemble zusammengestellt, das einige der besten Improvisatorinnen und Improvisatoren Europas vereint.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Performance mit Marcus Schmickler

Dienstag, 14.04.2020, 19:00

The show goes on! Als nächsten Gast im Livestream begrüßten wir mit Marcus Schmickler einen der bedeutendsten Komponisten zeitgenössischer Elektronischer und Neuer Musik.

Am Dienstag, den 14. April um 19 Uhr schaltete der Komponist sich live aus seinem elektroakustischen Studio Piethopraxis in Köln in den virtuellen Konzertraum der Monheim Triennale. Diesmal waren auch die Zuschauerinnern und Zuschauer aktiv gefragt. Marcus Schmickler empfahl, sich auf mehreren Geräten gleichzeitig während des Streams einzuloggen und diese Geräte im Raum zu verteilen. Der Komponist nutzte die unvermeidlichen Latenzen beim Streaming und kreierte damit einen ganz besonderen Raumklang.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Gespräch mit Lakecia Benjamin

Dienstag, 07.04.2020, 19:00

Die Saxophonistin Lakecia Benjamin aus New York im Gespräch mit unserem „Artist in Residence“ Achim Tang. Lakecia Benjamin spielte nicht nur Saxophon, sondern berichtete auch aus dem Inneren der Stadt New York, die wie keine andere Metropole unter dem Corona-Virus zu leiden hat.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Konzert mit Julia Úlehla (Dálava)

Dienstag, 31.03.2020, 19:00

Nach der Premiere unseres Live-Stream Konzerts mit Sam Amidon und „Artist in Residence“ Achim Tang, durften wir am Dienstag, den 31. März bereits die nächste Triennale-Künstlerin im virtuellen Konzertraum begrüßen. Julia Úlehla spielte zusammen mit dem Gitarristen Aram Bajakian, die das Künstlerduo Dálava bilden, von Vancouver aus live mit Achim Tang eine unvergessliche Live Session voller Musik.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)

Live-Stream Konzert mit Sam Amidon

Dienstag, 24.03.2020, 19:00

Das bereits abgesagte Konzert von Sam Amidon in Monheim am Rhein ließen wir in besonderer Weise stattfinden: Unser „Artist in Residence“ Achim Tang gab in einer Live-Schalte zusammen mit Sam Amidon ein Konzert.

Moderation: Achim Tang (Artist in Residence)