Festival Design

“For us, the Monheim Triennial feels like a movie. A movie in which the director, actors and locations are known, but the story has yet to be told” — Reiner Michalke, director of the Monheim Triennale

For the festival design of the Monheim Triennale we were able to win the Greek graphic artist Vasilis Marmatakis. Marmatakis has created the graphic design for the films of Yorgos Lanthimos "The Lobster" (2015), "The Killing of a Sacred Deer" (2017), "The Favourite" (2018) and "Nimic" (2019), among others.

The design concept is based on the visualization of physical and typographic elements through the experience of sound. Vasilis Marmatakis has designed a series of images with patterns like those found on "Mesh Covers" - patterns of perforated fabric or metal used to cover loudspeakers. He transfers these onto solid material and then works them with ink. The resulting traces visualize the acoustic resonance between source and receiver.

Vasilis Marmatakis will make a total of ten different Mesh Covers. Six have already been released.

About the artist

Vasilis Marmatakis studied graphic design at Camberwell College of Art, MA graphic design at the Royal College of Art in London and did research at the Jan van Eyck Academy in Maastricht. He worked as an art director in the advertising sector and in 2003 co-founded the design studio MNP, which is responsible for a wide range of cross-media projects including print, film, exhibition design and the web. Since 2009 he has been working as a freelance artist and graphic designer and is also a guest lecturer at the Vakalo College of Art and Design in Athens. Among other things, he has designed all the advertising posters and film titles for the films of the internationally renowned director and filmmaker Yorgos Lanthimos. His work has been published internationally, awarded numerous prizes in Greece and abroad and he has been invited to present his work in Holland, Great Britain, Cyprus, Belgium, Germany, Cuba and Austria. He lives and works in Athens, Greece.

Festivaldesign

„Für uns fühlt sich die Monheim Triennale an wie ein Film. Wir kennen die Schauspieler, wir kennen die Drehorte, wir wissen wer Regie führt, aber die Geschichte kennen wir noch nicht.“ — Reiner Michalke, Intendant der Monheim Triennale

Für das Festivaldesign der Monheim Triennale konnten wir den griechischen Grafikkünstler Vasilis Marmatakis gewinnen. Marmatakis hat unter anderem das Grafikdesign für die Filme von Yorgos Lanthimos „The Lobster“ (2015), „The Killing of a Sacred Deer“ (2017), „The Favourite“ (2018) und „Nimic“ (2019) gestaltet.

Das Gestaltungskonzept basiert auf der Visualisierung physikalischer und typografischer Elemente durch die Erfahrung von Klang. Vasilis Marmatakis hat eine Serie von Bildern mit Mustern entworfen, wie sie auf „Mesh Covern“ zu finden sind – Muster von gelochtem Stoff oder Metall, die zur Abdeckung von Lautsprechern verwendet werden. Diese überträgt er auf festes Material und bearbeitet es anschließend mit Tinte. Die so entstehenden Spuren visualisieren die akustische Resonanz zwischen Quelle und Empfänger.

Vasilis Marmatakis fertigste insgesamt acht verschiedene Mesh Cover für die Monheim Triennale an.

Über den Künstler

Vasilis Marmatakis studierte Grafikdesign am Camberwell College of Art, MA Grafikdesign am Royal College of Art in London und forschte an der Jan van Eyck Academy in Maastricht. Er arbeitete als Art Director im Werbebereich und entwickelte 2003 als Co-Gründer das Designstudios MNP, das medienübergreifend für eine Vielzahl von Projekten wie Print, Film, Ausstellungsdesign und Web verantwortlich ist. Seit 2009 ist er freiberuflich als Künstler und Graphiker tätig und wirkt zudem als Gastdozent am Vakalo College of Art and Design in Athen. Unter anderem hat er alle Werbeposter und Filmtitel für die Filme des international bekannten Regisseur und Filmemacher Yorgos Lanthimos entworfen. Seine Arbeiten wurden international veröffentlicht, mit zahlreichen Preisen in Griechenland und im Ausland ausgezeichnet und er wurde eingeladen, seine Arbeiten in Holland, Großbritannien, Zypern, Belgien, Deutschland, Kuba und Österreich zu präsentieren. Er lebt und arbeitet in Athen, Griechenland.