Yazz Ahmed (GB)

About Yazz Ahmed

British-Bahraini artist, Yazz Ahmed (born in 1983, Bahrain) is an incredibly exciting and accomplished trumpet player, composer and producer, who has long garnered global acclaim. When she came to London, her maternal grandfather (jazz trumpeter Terry Brown) encouraged her to play the trumpet. Through her music, Yazz Ahmed blurs the lines between jazz and electronic sound design, bringing together the sounds of her two countries of origin in what a critic has described as "psychedelic Arabic jazz, intoxicating and compelling".

Yazz Ahmed’s debut album "Finding My Way Home" (2011) integrates her first explorations of Arabic music elements, introducing her as an innovative performer and composer. In 2016, she began writing music for her newly developed quarter-tone flugelhorn. This is a unique instrument, enabling her to get even closer to the spiritual nature of the "blue notes" in Arabic music, deeply infusing her sound with her heritage. One of the reasons why her second album "La Saboteuse" (2017) also made beyond the traditional boundaries of the jazz community a global impact.

"La Saboteuse Remixed" (2018) underlines her growing fascination with electronic music. In collaborations with some eminent European DJ’s, four of the pieces from the original album were arranged, „reimagined" and taken to a new realm reaching out to a new audience.

On her current release "Polyhymnia", she dedicates six tracks to six different women who have inspired her and whom she describes as important role models. In Greek mythology, "Polyhymnia" is the muse of music, poetry and dance. An EP with electronic remixes was also produced from this album in November 2020.

Read more

Photo: Seb JJ Peters

Yazz Ahmed (GB)

Die britisch-bahrainische Künstlerin Yazz Ahmed (geb. 1983 in Bahrain) ist eine äußerst spannende und versierte Trompeterin, Komponistin und Produzentin, die seit langem weltweite Anerkennung genießt. Als sie nach London kam, wurde sie von ihrem Großvater mütterlicherseits (Jazz-Trompeter Terry Brown) ermutigt, Trompete zu spielen. In ihrer Musik verwischt Yazz Ahmed die Grenzen zwischen Jazz und elektronischem Sounddesign, indem sie die Klänge ihrer beiden Herkunftsländer verbindet. Ein Kritiker sprach diesbezüglich von "psychedelischen, berauschenden und fesselnden arabischen Jazz," heißt es auf der Homepage von Yazz Ahmed.

Auf ihrem Debütalbum "Finding My Way Home" (2011) integrierte Yazz Ahmed erstmals arabische Musikelemente, wobei sie sich gleichermaßen als innovative Interpretin und Komponistin zeigte. 2016 begann sie Musik für ihr neu entwickeltes Viertelton-Flügelhorn zu schreiben. Dieses einzigartige Instrument ermöglicht es ihr, der spirituellen Natur der "Blue Notes" in der arabischen Musik näher zu kommen und ihren eigenen Klang mit ihren Wurzeln zu verbinden: einer der Gründe, warum ihr zweites Album „La Saboteuse“ (2017) auch über die herkömmliche Jazzgemeinde hinaus weltweit Aufsehen erregte.

Mit „La Saboteuse Remixed“ (2018) unterstreicht sie ihre wachsende Faszination für elektronische Musik. In der Zusammenarbeit mit einigen herausragenden europäischen DJs wurden für diese EP vier Stücke des Originalalbums bearbeitet, „neu erfunden" und für ein neues Publikum in ganz andere Sphären überführt.

Auf ihrer aktuellen Produktion „Polyhymnia“ widmet sie die sechs Tracks sechs unterschiedlichen Frauen, die sie inspiriert haben und die sie als wichtige Vorbilder bezeichnet. „Polyhymnia“ ist in der griechischen Mythologie die Muse der Musik, der Poesie und des Tanzes. Auch zu diesem Album entstand im November 2020 eine EP mit elektronischen Remixes.

Weiter lesen