Photo: Caroline Mardok

Kris Davis (US)

Kris Davis (born in 1980, Vancouver, Canada) is a pianist, composer and educator. She has been based in New York for the past 18 years. An astounding and dynamic artist, "shockingly fluid" and equally compelling within multiple musical idioms, Kris Davis has made an indelible mark on the New York creative music scene, and in the global jazz community over the past decade.

Kris Davis was named 2017 "Rising Star Pianist" in DownBeat Magazine and dubbed a top up-and-coming artist in a 2012 New York Times article titled "New Pilots at the Keyboard" recommending that: “One method for deciding where to hear jazz on a given night has been to track down the pianist Kris Davis”.

To date, she has released eleven recordings as bandleader. Her duo album "Octopus" (2018) inspired Michael J. Agovino of Village Voice to comment "... no two pianists have played with the kind of freedom and grace, abandon and emotion as Kris Davis and Craig Taborn on their new album 'Octopus'…” Her release "Duopoly" (2016 ) was covered in The New York Times, Pop Matters, NPR, LA Times, and was included in the Jazz Times Best Albums list of 2016. Her current album "Diatom Ribbons" (2019 on her own label Pyroclastic Records) is also highly praised by the press.

Read more

Photo: Caroline Mardok

Kris Davis (US)

Kris Davis (geb. 1980 in Vancouver, Kanada) ist eine Pianistin, Komponistin und Dozentin. Sie lebt und arbeitet seit 18 Jahren in New York. Eine erstaunliche und dynamische Künstlerin, "schockierend flüssig", die sich gleichermaßen überzeugend diverser musikalischer Idiome bedient. Kris Davis hat in den letzten zehn Jahren unauslöschliche Spuren in der New Yorker Kreativmusikszene sowie der Jazz-Community auf der ganzen Welt hinterlassen.

Das DownBeat Magazine kürte Kris Davis 2017 zum „Rising Star Pianist“ und der New York Times-Artikel „New Pilots at the Keyboard“ (2012) betitelte sie als eine der Top-Up-and-Coming-Musikerinnen mit der Empfehlung: „Eine Methode zum Entscheiden, wo man an einem Abend zum Jazz hören hingehen soll, ist nach der Pianistin Kris Davis zu suchen.“

Bis dato hat sie elf Aufnahmen als Bandleaderin veröffentlicht. Ihr Duo-Album „Octopus“ (2018) inspirierte Michael J. Agovino von Village Voice zu dem Kommentar „... kein anderes Klavierduo hat jemals mit dieser Art von Freiheit und Anmut, Ungezwungenheit und Emotion gespielt, wie Kris Davis und Craig Taborn auf ihrem neuen Album 'Octopus'...“ Ihre Veröffentlichung „Duopoly“ (2016) schaffte es in die New York Times, in Pop Matters, NPR, LA Times und auf die Liste der besten Alben des Jahres 2016 in der Jazz Times. Auch ihr aktuelles Album "Diatom Ribbons" (2019 auf ihrem eigenen Label Pyroclastic Records) wird von der Presse hochgelobt.

Weiter lesen