Photo: Ebru Yildiz

Colin Stetson (CA)

Colin Stetson is many. It's hard to explain him any other way. A challenging sax player, happy on bass or alto but also on cornet and French horn. And when you can hear all by himself, without any extras, without any overdubs, it's always Cinemascope: Widescreen cinema telling stories that make you bob along.

Colin Stetson is from Ann Arbor, Michigan. That's where the MC5 (i.e. Wayne Kramer's protopunk) played with Sun Ra (i.e. the cosmic link between 50s doo-wop and adventurous space travel) in the 1960s. And when you look at who Stetson has played music with in recent years – Tom Waits, Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Chemical Brothers, Evan Parker, or Hamid Drake – this isn’t possibly just due to his Ann Arbor origins. His world becomes broader and more complex the closer and more closely you look at it. Stetson's distinctive blend of advanced technology, circulatory breathing, overblowing, rattling valves, etc., sounds a kind of symphonic minimalist techno (only without techno) that is as far ahead as it is solidly rooted (check 'New History Warfare Vol.1 - 3').

Speaking of Cinemascope: Yes, Colin Stetson has composed and recorded music for over 25 movies, TV series and computer games. A song of his was used in '12 Years a Slave' by Steve McQueen and this movie won an Oscar. Looking at 'Color out of Space', a 2019 Lovecraft adaptation starring Nicolaus Cage for which Stetson created something that could be called maximalist Morricone, the description by the German motion picture rating system organization FSK summarizes: "The story is predominantly told in a calm manner and only slowly builds up tension and horror, with intense usage of colour and lighting. As the plot progresses, more drastic splatter elements come into play. These gruesome images and the atmosphere of madness and doom may overwhelm children and young people under 16." (SPIO FSK) Stetson's music follows suit, there is no overburdening however, rather, as already indicated, a sense of Cinemascope for the ears.

Yes, Colin Stetson also plays with Greg Fox and Shahzad Ismaily regularly, but that shouldn't come as a surprise now.

Read more

Dates

Round Robin „Escalator Over The Hill“ (The Prequel #1)
Thu, 07/01/21, 19:00, Festival Boat

Alternating duos with Yazz Ahmed, Sam Amidon, Hibo Elmi, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily, Sofia Jernberg, Robert Landfermann, Ingrid Laubrock, Ava Mendoza, Marcus Schmickler, Phillip Sollmann, Colin Stetson, Stian Westerhus

The Prequel #2
Thu, 07/01/21, 21:30, Festival Boat
  • Colin Stetson & Greg Fox
  • Ava Mendoza solo
  • Sam Amidon „The Following Mountain“
  • Hibo Elmi, Sam Amidon, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily
Artist Talks
Fri, 07/02/21, 11:00, Comfort Hotel Monheim
The Prequel #4
Fri, 07/02/21, 21:30, Festival Boat
  • Sam Amidon & Mivos Quartet
  • Stian Westerhus solo
  • Colin Stetson, Marcus Schmickler, Shahzad Ismaily, Yazz Ahmed
The Prequel #5
Sat, 07/03/21, 19:00, Festival Boat
  • Ava Mendoza, Stian Westerhus, Shahzad Ismaily, Phillip Sollmann, Greg Fox
  • Colin Stetson solo
  • Sofia Jernberg, Sam Amidon, Shahzad Ismaily, Robert Landfermann
The Prequel #6
Sat, 07/03/21, 21:30, Festival Boat
  • Ingrid Laubrock, Yazz Ahmed, Greg Fox
  • Marcus Schmickler & Robert Landfermann
  • The Grand Finale "And It's Again"

Photo: Ebru Yildiz

Colin Stetson (CA)

Colin Stetson ist Viele. Anders ist er schwer zu erklären. Ein herausfordernder Saxophonist, gerne auf dem Bass oder dem Alt aber auch auf dem Kornett und Waldhorn. Und wenn er ganz allein, ohne Netz und doppelten Boden, ohne jede Overdubs, zu hören ist, dann ist das immer Cinemascope: Breitbildkino, das Geschichten erzählt, bei denen man mitwippt.

Colin Stetson kommt aus Ann Arbor, Michigan. Das ist dort, wo die MC5 (also Wayne Kramers Protopunk) mit Sun Ra (also der kosmischen Verbindung zwischen 50er Jahre Doo-Wop und abenteuerlichen Weltraumreisen) in den 1960er Jahre miteinander gespielt haben. Und wenn man sich anschaut, mit wem Stetson in den letzten Jahren musiziert hat, Tom Waits, Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Chemical Brothers, Evan Parker oder Hamid Drake, dann kann das nicht nur an seiner Herkunft aus Ann Arbor liegen. Seine Welt wird desto größer und komplexer, je näher und genauer man sie betrachtet. Stetsons distinkte Mischung aus avancierter Technik, Zirkulationsatmung, Überblasen, Klappenklappern usw. lässt eine Art symphonischen Minimal Techno (nur eben ohne Techno) erklingen, die ebenso weit vorne wie solide geerdet ist (schlag nach bei „New History Warfare Vol.1 – 3“).

Apropos Cinemascope: Ja, Colin Stetson hat zu über 25 Filmen, TV-Serien und Computerspielen Musik komponiert und eingespielt. Ein Lied von ihm wurde für „12 Years a Slave“ von Steve McQueen verwendet und dieser Film hat einen Oscar gewonnen. Zu „Color out of Space“, einer Lovecraft-Verfilmung mit Nicolaus Cage von 2019, für die Stetson so etwas wie maximalistischen Morricone entwarf, heißt es in der FSK-Freigabe: „Die Geschichte ist überwiegend ruhig erzählt und baut Spannung und Schrecken erst langsam auf, wobei insbesondere die intensive Farb- und Lichtgestaltung zentral ist. Je weiter die Handlung fortschreitet, desto mehr drastische Splatter-Elemente kommen ins Spiel. Diese grausamen Bilder und die Atmosphäre von Wahnsinn und Untergang können Kinder und Jugendliche unter 16 Jahren überfordern.“ (SPIO FSK) Die Musik von Stetson ist entsprechend, eine Überforderung ist nicht festzustellen, eher, wie schon angedeutet, Cinemascope für die Ohren.

Ja, Colin Stetson spielt auch regelmäßig mit Greg Fox und Shahzad Ismaily, aber das sollte jetzt keine Überraschung mehr sein.

Weiter lesen

Termine

Round Robin „Escalator Over The Hill“ (The Prequel #1)
Do, 01.07.2021, 19:00, Festivalschiff

Wechselnde Duos mit Yazz Ahmed, Sam Amidon, Hibo Elmi, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily, Sofia Jernberg, Robert Landfermann, Ingrid Laubrock, Ava Mendoza, Marcus Schmickler, Phillip Sollmann, Colin Stetson, Stian Westerhus

The Prequel #2
Do, 01.07.2021, 21:30, Festivalschiff
  • Colin Stetson & Greg Fox
  • Ava Mendoza solo
  • Sam Amidon „The Following Mountain“
  • Hibo Elmi, Sam Amidon, Greg Fox, Shahzad Ismaily
Artist Talks
Fr, 02.07.2021, 11:00, Comfort Hotel Monheim
The Prequel #4
Fr, 02.07.2021, 21:30, Festivalschiff
  • Sam Amidon & Mivos Quartet
  • Stian Westerhus solo
  • Colin Stetson, Marcus Schmickler, Shahzad Ismaily, Yazz Ahmed
  • Phillip Sollmann solo
The Prequel #5
Sa, 03.07.2021, 19:00, Festivalschiff
  • Ava Mendoza, Stian Westerhus, Shahzad Ismaily, Phillip Sollmann, Greg Fox
  • Colin Stetson solo
  • Sofia Jernberg, Sam Amidon, Shahzad Ismaily, Robert Landfermann
The Prequel #6
Sa, 03.07.2021, 21:30, Festivalschiff
  • Ingrid Laubrock, Yazz Ahmed, Greg Fox
  • Marcus Schmickler & Robert Landfermann
  • The Grand Finale "And It's Again"