Artist in Residence

With Artist in Residence Achim Tang the Monheim Triennale already creates ties between the city’s residents and the festival well before its first edition. Since 2019 Achim Tang resides and works in Monheim, acting as an ambassador for the festival and its musical/artistic contents, as well as participating in various collaborations to further stimulate the city’s cultural development.

Achim Tang

Achim Tang, born 1958 in Berlin, is a double bass player with a background in jazz and improvised music. Apart from his work as a concert musician, he is also known in the area of music and cultural education for his approach to teach music to a broader audience. In recent years, Tang has developed and lead a large number of varied projects focusing on socio-economically disadvantaged communities. In addition, he was involved in adult education as well as theoretical reflection of his work.

After completing his studies at the Musikhochschule in Graz, Austria, Tang lived in Vienna for many years. In Vienna, he did not just actively take part in many concert activities, but also in interdisciplinary projects or as a composer for film, theatre and dance performances. During this time he was also involved in the ‘Klangnetzen’, an innovative music pedagogy project on the possibilities of artistically teaching New Music at general secondary schools, which was noticed far beyond the Austrian borders.

In 2004, Achim Tang moved from Vienna to Cologne and increasingly devoted himself to work on music pedagogy concepts and their practical implementation. He consistently looks for possibilities to integrate pedagogical approaches into his own artistic practice. His aim is to genuinely understand artistic processes in children, adolescents and/or adult musical laypersons. In addition to his practical project work in Cologne, Tang was also involved in the educational programme ‘nimm!’ at ‘moers festival’ and worked as a lecturer at the University of Cologne and the Musikhochschule Köln.

Selected projects

Creative Week for Children at Sojus 7

Creative Week in Foreign Galaxies: Mid-August the 25th edition of the Creative Week for Children aged 6 to 12 years took place at Sojus 7. The topic was ‘Outer Space’. Music in space: What does music sound like in vast outer space? Can we communicate on a musical level with extra-terrestrial beings who might want to visit us? During that week we looked for sounds and songs, instruments and playing styles that make our idea of space audible in an open, playful process. 

The results of the Creative Week for Children are available for download here: Download.

The Open Music Room — an informal music programme at ‘Haus der Jugend’ in Monheim

The open music room, aka the ‘Offene Musikraum’, offers music lessons and experiences at Monheim’s Haus der Jugend. Young people are invited to experience music in an accessible way. Our goal is to offer young people an inviting space for musical encounters and creative experiments. The Offene Musikraum is open for two hours once a week. Unlike most other current music projects, the Offene Musikraum does not rely on regular participation by a set group of young people, nor is there necessarily a performative presentation at the end. The focus is entirely to make music together, in an artistic sense and as social interaction.

Due to the group’s expected fluctuation, a new approach to the creation of music has to be negotiated and worked on each time, influenced by the individual interests and abilities of those present at any given time.

Read more

Artist in Residence

Mit der Berufung von Achim Tang als „Artist in Residence“ schafft die Monheim Triennale schon vor ihrer ersten Ausgabe eine unmittelbare Verbindung zwischen Festival und Stadtgesellschaft. Achim Tang lebt und arbeitet seit 2019 in Monheim und ist sowohl Botschafter für das Festival und seine musikalisch-künstlerischen Inhalte, als auch Kooperationspartner und Initiator vielfältiger Aktivitäten der kulturellen Bildung in der Stadt.

Achim Tang

Achim Tang, geboren 1958 in Berlin, ist als Kontrabassist im Jazz und in der Improvisierten Musik verwurzelt. Neben seiner Arbeit als konzertierender Musiker hat er sich vor allem als Musikvermittler in einem erweiterten musik- und kulturpädagogischen Feld einen Namen gemacht. In diesem Kontext hat Achim Tang in den vergangenen Jahren eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Projekten – schwerpunktmäßig in sozioökonomisch benachteiligten Gemeinschaften – konzipiert und geleitet. Darüber hinaus war er in der Weiterbildung sowie der theoretischen Reflexion dieser Arbeit engagiert.

Nach seinem Studium an der Musikhochschule in Graz lebte Achim Tang viele Jahre in Wien, wo er über seine rege Konzerttätigkeit hinaus auch in interdisziplinären Projekten sowie als Komponist für Film, Theater oder Tanzperformances aktiv war. In dieser Zeit engagierte er sich auch in den „Klangnetzen“, einem innovativen und weit über die Grenzen Österreichs hinaus beachteten musikpädagogischen Projekt zu den Möglichkeiten einer künstlerischen Vermittlung Neuer Musik an allgemeinbildenden Schulen.

2004 zog Achim Tang von Wien nach Köln und widmete sich verstärkt der Arbeit an musikpädagogischen Konzeptionen und deren praktischer Umsetzung. Er sucht konsequent nach Möglichkeiten, pädagogische Ansätze in die eigene künstlerische Praxis zu integrieren und genuin künstlerische Prozesse auch mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und/ oder erwachsenen musikalischen Laien nachzuvollziehen. Über die praktische Projektarbeit in Köln hinaus war Achim Tang an dem Vermittlungsprogramm „nimm!“ des „moers festival“ beteiligt und arbeitete als Lehrbeauftragter für die Kölner Universität und die Kölner Musikhochschule.

Ausgewählte Projekte

Kinderkreativwoche im Sojus 7

Die Kreativwoche in fremden Galaxien: Mitte August fand die 25. Kreativwoche für Kinder von sechs bis zwölf Jahren im Sojus 7 statt. Thema war „Weltraum“. Der Weltraum Musik: Wie klingt die Musik in den Weiten des Weltalls? Können wir uns musikalisch mit ausserirdischen Wesen verständigen, die uns besuchen wollen? In einem offenen, spielerischen Prozess suchen wir im Lauf der Woche Klänge und Lieder, Instrumente und Spielarten, die unsere Idee von Weltraum hörbar machen. 

Die Ergebnisse der Kinder-Kreativwoche können hier heruntergeladen werden: Download der Mittschnitte.

Der Offene Musikraum — ein informelles Musikangebot im Haus der Jugend in Monheim

Der Offene Musikraum bietet ein niederschwelliges musikalisches Angebot im Monheimer Haus der Jugend. Unser Ziel ist es, den Jugendlichen in der Einrichtung einen offenen Raum für musikalische Begegnung und kreative Experimente anzubieten. Der Offene Musikraum ist einmal wöchentlich für zwei Stunden zugänglich. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten gängigen Projektangeboten setzt der Offene Musikraum dabei nicht von vornherein auf eine verbindliche und regelmäßige Teilnahme einer fixen Gruppe von Jugendlichen, auch muss aus dem Angebot nicht zwangsläufig eine performative Präsentation der Arbeitsergebnisse resultieren. Vielmehr liegt die Konzentration auf dem gemeinsamen Musizieren, welches in diesem Zusammenhang gleichermaßen als künstlerische Geste und soziale Aktion verstanden wird.

Durch die zu erwartende Fluktuation in der Gruppe werden immer sich wieder neue musikalische Ansätze gefragt sein, die sich jeweils an den Interessen und Fähigkeiten der Anwesenden orientieren.

Weiter lesen