Photo: Frank Schemmann

Stian Westerhus (NO)

Stian Westerhus & Fennesz

Stian Westerhus_git
Fennesz_git, elec

Imagine two masters of advanced sound creation will meet – in this world premier it happens: Fennesz, a key figure in the electronic world using guitar and computer to create shimmering, swirling electronic sound of enormous range and complex musicality meets Norwegian guitarist Stian Westerhus, who uses his guitar as the source of a whole raft of feedback manipulations and seared amplifier flare-ups to create a floating almost sacral sound.

About Stian Westerhus

Guitarist Stian Westerhus (born 1979 in Jådåren, Norway) studied at the Trondheim Music Conservatory, where Nils Petter Molvær and Arve Henriksen studied as well. Stylistically Westerhus follows the tradition of Norwegian guitarists such as Terje Rypdal and Eivind Aarset. He then explores and expands the possibilities of his electric guitar with extended playing techniques including electronic sound generators.

After starting out in rock bands (Puma with Gard Nilssen and Øystein Moen as well as Monolithic with Motorspycho member Kenneth Kapstad), Westerhus broadened his stylistic scope and got involved with the Norwegian nu-jazz ensemble Jaga Jazzist. Later on, Nils Petter Molvær got him involved in his band and to perform on the album “Baboon Moon”. Westerhus made his international breakthrough by collaborating with Norwegian singer Sidsel Endresen: both extremely good improvisers understanding each other perfectly. The duo was awarded the Spellemannprisen in 2012 for their album “Didymoi Dreams”.
Nowadays, solo projects dominate most of Westerhus’ artistic scope. He has released four albums to date: “Galore”, “Pitch Black Star Spangled”, “The Matriarch And The Wrong Kind Of Flowers” and “Amputation”. He is currently working on a new album and released the track “There’s A Light” as a teaser in July 2019.

Stian Westerhus and his family live near Trondheim on a remote farm.

Read more

Photo: Frank Schemmann

Stian Westerhus (NO)

Stian Westerhus & Fennesz

Stian Westerhus_git
Fennesz_git, elec

Wenn zwei große Meister des avancierten Klangschaffens aufeinander treffen sind hohe Erwartungen gerechtfertigt. Fennesz, eine Schlüsselfigur der elektronischen Musik, der mit Gitarren und Computern eine Klangwelt von enormer Bandbreite und komplexer Musikalität erzeugt, trifft auf den norwegischen Gitarristen Stian Westerhus, der seine Gitarre als Quelle für eine ganze Reihe von Rückkopplungstechniken und Verstärkermanipulationen nutzt, um einen schwebenden, fast sakralen Klang zu erzeugen.

Über Stian Westerhus

Der 1979 in Jådåren, Norwegen geborene Gitarrist Stian Westerhus hat am Trondheim Musikkonservatorium studiert, an dem unter anderen auch Nils Petter Molvær und Arve Henriksen studiert haben. Westerhus steht stilistisch in der Tradition von norwegischen Gitarristen wie Terje Rypdal und Eivind Aarset, wobei er den Möglichkeitsraum der elektrischen Gitarre mit erweiterten Spieltechniken unter Einbeziehung elektronischer Klangerzeugern auslotet und erweitert.

Nach Anfängen in Rockbands – Puma mit Gard Nilssen und Øystein Moen sowie Monolithic mit dem Motorspycho-Mitglied Kenneth Kapstad – öffnete sich Stian Westerhus stilistisch und brachte sich zunächst bei dem norwegischen Nu-Jazz-Ensemble Jaga Jazzist ein, bevor er von Nils Petter Molvær in dessen Band geholt wurde und auf dem Album „Baboon Moon“ mitspielte. Der internationale Durchbruch gelang Westerhus durch die Zusammenarbeit mit der norwegischen Sängerin Sidsel Endresen – beide sind extrem gute Improvisateur/-innen und verstehen sich blind. Das Duo bekam 2012 für sein Album „Didymoi Dreams“ den Spellemannprisen verliehen.
Inzwischen nehmen Soloprojekte einen Großteil der künstlerischen Arbeit von Stian Westerhus ein. Er veröffentlichte bis dato vier Alben: „Galore“, „Pitch Black Star Spangled“, „The Matriarch And The Wrong Kind Of Flowers“ und „Amputation“. Aktuell arbeitet er an einem neuen Album, von dem im Juli 2019 als Teaser der Track „There`s A Light“ erschienen ist.

Stian Westerhus lebt mit seiner Familie in der Nähe von Trondheim auf einem abgelegenen Bauernhof.

Weiter lesen