Photo: Park Cecil

Park Jiha

(KR)

Park Jiha (born 1985 in Seoul, South Korea) is a composer and multi-instrumentalist. She plays, among others, the traditional Korean piri, a double reed bamboo flute, the yanggeum, a hammered dulcimer as well as the saenghwang, an impressive mouth organ constructed from 24 bamboo pipes, vertically mounted in a metal windchest. Her fascination for ancient instruments combined with her passion for lucid and highly contemporary compositions fill her music with unexpected and mesmerizing effects effects marking transcultural change.

Park Jiha’s music is characterized by elements of minimalism, ambient music and free jazz as well as influences by traditional Korean music, which is based on different sound layers and an unconventional interplay of space and time. During her performances she generates a musical flow which is both gentle and calm at times, then furious and stylistically challenging.

Park Jihs’s music reflect references to a wide canon of musicians from all over the world such as Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Jon Hassell, Michael Nyman and Laraaji. Thereby her Korean, non-Eurocentric point of view on the complexity of the surrounding world adds an appealing perspectival twist to her performances.
Park Jiha has released two albums so far, her self-produced debut album “Communion” (2016) and “Philos” (2019 on Tak:til/Glitterbeat). Her music inspires through an uneasy balance of energetic and adventurous moments, contrasting with soothing and comforting ones.

Read more

Photo: Park Cecil

Park Jiha (KR)

Über Park Jiha

Park Jiha (geb. 1985 in Seoul, Südkorea) ist Komponistin und Multi-Instrumentalistin. Sie spielt u.a. die klassische koreanische Piri, eine Bambusoboe mit Doppelrohrblatt, die Wölbbrettzither Yanggeum sowie die Saenghwang, eine eindrucksvolle Mundorgel aus 24 Bambusrohren, die in einer Windkammer aus Metall münden. Ihre Faszination für historische Instrumente und ihre Leidenschaft für luzide, höchst moderne Kompositionen verbinden sich zu einer unerwartet verzaubert wirkenden Musik im transkulturellen Wandel.

Die Musik von Park Jiha zeichnet eine Kombination von stilistischen Elementen des Minimalismus, der Ambient Musik und des Free Jazz sowie dem Einfluss der traditionellen koreanischen Musik aus, die verschiedene Klangebenen berührt und auf einem eigenwilligen Zusammenspiel von Zeit und Raum basiert. Bei ihren Auftritten generiert sie einen musikalischen Flow, von dem zugleich Sanftheit und Ruhe ausgeht, um dann wieder furios und stilistisch herausfordernd daherzukommen.

Die Musik von Park Jiha wurde von einer Vielzahl an Musikerinnen und Musikern aus aller Welt beeinflusst, darunter Steve Reich, Terry Riley, Jon Hassell, Michael Nyman und Laraaji. Ihre koreanische, nicht-eurozentrische Interpretation der Komplexität unserer aktuellen Welt verleiht dem Musikerlebnis eine überaus reizvolle perspektivische Wendung.
Park Jiha veröffentlichte bis dato zwei Alben: das selbst produzierte Debüt „Communion“ (2016) und „Philos“ (2019, auf Tak:til/Glitterbeat). Ihr Mix aus transzendentalen Experimenten und Kompositionen mit klarem, ästhetischem Ansatz ist einmalig. Die Musik von Park Jiha bezieht ihre inspirierende Wirkung aus der beunruhigenden Balance der energetisch abenteuerlustigen Momente im Kontrast zu den besänftigend beruhigenden.

Weiter lesen