Photo: derVisagist.com

Jennifer Walshe

(IE)

“The most original compositional voice to emerge from Ireland in the past 20 years” (Irish Times) and “wild girl of Darmstadt” (Frankfurter Rundschau), composer and performer Jennifer Walshe was born 1974 in Dublin. Her compositions often center on the human voice and oral history and language. Her music has been commissioned, broadcast and performed all over the world by leading ensembles and philharmonic orchestras.

Walshe has written a large number of operas and theatrical works, including “XXX_LIVE_NUDE_GIRLS!!!” an opera for Barbie dolls, and “TIME TIME TIME”, with the philosopher Timothy Morton, which the Wire described as “a sprawling opus that spans the history of the planet… like Robert Ashley meets Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life”. She has been the recipient of fellowships and prizes from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, New York, the DAAD Berliner Künstlerprogramm, the Internationales Musikinstitut, Darmstadt and Akademie Schloss Solitude among others.

Walshe specializes in the development of voice techniques and performance elements. She combines techniques from experimental compositions, performance art, storytelling with influences from cross-media art and film. Her visual work has been exhibited in the Chelsea Art Museum, New York, Project Arts Centre, Dublin and the ICA, London.

Read more

Photo: derVisagist.com

Jennifer Walshe (IE)

Über Jennifer Walshe

"Die originellste Kompositionsstimme, die in den letzten 20 Jahren aus Irland hervorgegangen ist" (Irish Times) und das "wilde Mädchen Darmstadts" (Frankfurter Rundschau) – die Komponistin und Performerin Jennifer Walshe wurde 1974 in Dublin geboren. Ihre Kompositionen basieren oft auf der menschliche Stimme und thematisieren den Umgang mit oraler Geschichtsschreibung und Sprache. Ihre Musik wurde von den wichtigsten Ensembles und philharmonischen Orchestern in Auftrag gegeben, aufgezeichnet und weltweit aufgeführt.

Walshe hat eine große Anzahl von Opern und Theaterstücken geschrieben, darunter „XXX_LIVE_NUDE_GIRLS!!!!“ eine Oper für Barbie-Puppen und „TIME TIME TIME“ mit dem Philosophen Timothy Morton, das der Wire als "ein weitläufiges Werk beschrieb, das die Geschichte des Planeten überspannt.... wie wenn Robert Ashley auf Monty Pythons “The Meaning of Life” trifft.” Sie erhielt unter anderem Stipendien und Preise von der Foundation for Contemporary Arts New York, dem DAAD Berliner Künstlerprogramm, dem Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt und der Akademie Schloss Solitude.

Walshe ist in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis auf die Weiterentwicklung von Stimmtechniken und performativen Elementen spezialisiert. Sie kombiniert hierfür unter anderem Techniken der experimentellen Komposition, der Performancekunst und des Storytellings mit Einflüssen aus Medienkunst und Film. Ihre visuellen Arbeiten wurden im Chelsea Art Museum New York, Project Arts Centre Dublin und im ICA London, ausgestellt.

Weiter lesen