Photo: Ebru Yildiz

Greg Fox (US)

Quadrinity

Greg Fox_dr
Angel Deradoorian_fl, voc
Michael Beharie_git
Justin Frye_b

Expanding Greg Fox‘s solo work on his electroacoustic setup to a live quartet with traditional jazz instruments, this band will take you on a journey through sound, interweaving high energy rhythms with dreamlike soundwaves.

Black Sabbath Cover Band Rehearsal

Greg Fox_dr
Angel Deradoorian_voc
Nick Zinner_git
Mick Barr_git
Brad Truax_b

Having it raw and dirty Greg Fox is paying tribute to his own metal roots, honouring the legendary Birmingham heavy rock band, with a crew of great musicians, playing their European premiere.

About Greg Fox

Greg Fox (born in 1985, New York City, USA) started his career as interdisciplinary artist, drummer and multi-instrumentalist in Brooklyn's experimental metal scene, before going on creative detours into the international avant garde jazz and art scene. Fox holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Integrated Art from the renowned Bard College.

Fox’s reputation as a highly virtuosic hyperspeed drummer was well-earned during his worldwide tour with black metal band Liturgy (with whom he released the albums Renihilation, Aesthethica and The Art Work). After departing that band, Fox dedicated himself to cross-genre collaborations with Australian composer Ben Frost, New York jazz noise project Zs and bass saxophonist Colin Stetson, each choice shaped by a will to constantly challenge himself artistically.

The same could be said about Fox’s studies with legendary drummer Milford Graves which represented a turning point in his artistic work. With Graves, Fox produced MIDI-controlled music based on triplet rhythms of his own heartbeat. Fox's first solo album Mitral Transmission (2014) was also based around his heart-rate as a rhythmic core. Inspired by his passion to harmonise percussion beats with organic sounds and modern technology, Fox started to work with the hardware/software system Sensory Percussion, where an acoustic drumkit is the main sensory interface to communicate with his audience.

Read more

Photo: Ebru Yildiz

Greg Fox (US)

Quadrinity

Greg Fox_dr
Angel Deradoorian_fl, voc
Michael Beharie_git
Justin Frye_b

Greg Fox‘ Soloarbeit auf seinem elektroakustischen Set wird in dieser Band live auf ein Quartett mit typischer Jazzbesetzung übertragen. Diese Gruppe schickt uns mit hochenergetischen Rhythmen und traumhaften Tonwellen auf eine Reise durch verschiedene Klanglandschaften.

Black Sabbath Cover Band Rehearsal

Greg Fox_dr
Angel Deradoorian_voc
Nick Zinner_git
Mick Barr_git
Brad Truax_b

Raw and dirty - Greg Fox würdigt seine eigenen Metal-Wurzeln und ehrt die legendäre Rockband mit einer Gruppe großartiger Musikerinnen und Musiker, die in Monheim ihre Europa-Premiere spielen werden.

Über Greg Fox

Die Karriere des interdisziplinären Künstlers, Schlagzeugers und Multiinstrumentalisten Greg Fox (geboren 1985 in New York City) hat in der experimentellen Metalszene Brooklyns begonnen und führte über kreative Umwege in die internationale Avantgarde-Jazz- und Kunstszene. Fox hat seinen Bachelor of Arts in Integrierter Kunst am renommierten Bard College absolviert.

Seinen Ruf als hochvirtuoser Hyperspeed-Drummer hat sich Greg Fox mit der Black Metal-Band Liturgy (mit der er die Alben „Renihilation“, „Aesthethica“ und „The Art Work“ veröffentlichte) weltweit hart ertourt. Seit der Loslösung von der Band widmet sich Fox genreübergreifenden Kollaborationen mit dem australischen Komponisten Ben Frost, dem New Yorker Jazz-Noise-Projekt Zs und dem Basssaxofonisten Colin Stetson, jede für sich geprägt von seinem Willen, sich künstlerisch stets herauszufordern.

Selbiges lässt sich auch über sein Studium bei dem legendären Schlagzeuger Milford Graves sagen, dass einer Zäsur im künstlerischen Schaffen von Fox gleichkam. Mit Graves produzierte er MIDI-gesteuerte Musik, die auf den triolischen Rhythmen seines eigenen Herzschlags basiert – die Herzfrequenz von Fox bildet die Grundlage für sein erstes, 2014 veröffentlichte Solo-Album „Mitral Transmission“. Inspiriert durch seine Leidenschaft Perkussionssounds mit organischen Klängen und moderner Technologie in Einklang zu bringen, begann Fox mit dem Hardware/Software-System Sensory Percussion zu arbeiten, bei dem das akustische Drumset die sensorische Hauptschnittstelle für die Kommunikation mit dem Publikum darstellt.

Weiter lesen