The Festival

The ‘Monheim Triennale’ is an international music festival aiming to document ground-breaking artistic positions in contemporary music. Artistic Director is Reiner Michalke.

From 2023 onwards, the ‘Monheim Triennale’ will be held at a three-year interval at the ‘Kulturraffinerie K714’, an industrial monument located directly along the Rhine river which is currently being converted into a venue for events. However, in 2020 there will be a first, smaller edition of this new festival.

The aim of the ‘Monheim Triennale’ is to present both current improvised and composed as well as popular music eye-to-eye in a joint festival context.

"It’s a great privilege and a wonderful opportunity to live up to such a challenge. At the same time, a festival of this kind also marks the beginning of a new era for the way contemporary music is being presented. I hope to come as close as possible to our ambitious goals”, comments Artistic Director Reiner Michalke who was Artistic Director at Moers Festival from 2006 to 2016 and is the current Programme Director at Cologne's Stadtgarten.

Mayor Daniel Zimmermann: "We regard the Monheim Triennale as a great opportunity for our city. A festival of this kind will not just help the city of Monheim/Rhine to achieve international acclaim. We also foresee contact possibilities between performing festival artists with Monheim's children and youth which thereby further promotes cultural education".

Read more

Das Festival

Die „Monheim Triennale“ ist ein internationales Musikfestival, das zum Ziel hat, wegweisende künstlerische Positionen der Aktuellen Musik zu dokumentieren. Intendant ist Reiner Michalke.

Die „Monheim Triennale“ soll ab 2023 alle drei Jahre in der „Kulturraffinerie K714“, einem dann zu einer Veranstaltungsstätte ausgebauten, unmittelbar am Rhein gelegenen Industriedenkmal stattfinden. Bereits 2020 wird es eine erste, kleinere Ausgabe des Festivals geben.

Ziel der „Monheim Triennale“ ist die Präsentation aktueller Improvisierter, Komponierter und Populärer Musik auf gegenseitiger Augenhöhe in einem gemeinsamen Festivalkontext. 

„Es ist ein großes Privileg und eine große Chance, sich einer solchen Herausforderung stellen zu dürfen. Ein solches Festival bedeutet gleichzeitig auch den Aufbruch in eine neue Ära der Präsentation Aktueller Musik. Und ich hoffe, den hochgesteckten Zielen so nahe wie möglich zu kommen“, sagt Intendant Reiner Michalke, der von 2006 bis 2016 künstlerischer Leiter des Moers Festivals war und jetziger Programmchef im Kölner Stadtgarten ist.

Bürgermeister Daniel Zimmermann: „Wir sehen in der Monheimer Triennale eine große Chance für die Stadt. Ein solches Festival würde Monheim am Rhein nicht nur helfen, sich international zu positionieren, sondern wir sehen außerdem die Möglichkeit, die während des Festivals auftretenden Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit Monheimer Kindern und Jugendlichen in Kontakt zu bringen und so die kulturelle Bildung weiter zu fördern.“

Weiter lesen