Photo: Yvonne Schmedemann

Shabaka Hutchings (GB)

About Shabaka Hutchings

Shabaka Hutchings (born in 1984, London) is a saxophonist, clarinetist and bandleader. He lives in a South-East London but has his origins in Barbadian: the cultural diversity of his origins is clearly reflected in his music. As an alum of London’s renowned Tomorrow’s Warriors music education program, Shabaka Hutchings was first influenced by the "golden era" hip-hop, Caribbean music and classical compositions that he heard in his youth.

He went on to become a fixture of "Brownswood Recordings" label, that is run by DJ and radio host Gilles Peterson. His sound was praised as a modern, experimental counter to the American jazz tradition rooted in the blues. What both have in common is a critical examination of the persistent discrimination faced by people of the African diaspora.

After working with the Londoner band "Melt Yourself Down" (2012), Shabaka Hutchings is now active as the bandleader of "Sons of Kemet" and "Shabaka and the Ancestors". He also works in the trio "The Comet Is Coming" with keyboardist Dan Leavers and drummer Max Hallett. In each constellation, his music maintains a sustained conversation with London’s club culture.

With "The Comet Is Coming" Shabaka Hutchings received a Mercury Prize nomination for their 2016 debut album “Channel The Spirits“. Other accolades include a 2013 MOBO Award for Best Jazz Act with "Sons of Kemet", the Paul Hamlyn Composer Award and Jazz FM’s Jazz Innovation Award. 

Read more

Photo: Yvonne Schmedemann

Shabaka Hutchings (GB)

Shabaka Hutchings (geb. 1984 in London) ist Saxofonist, Klarinettist und Bandleader. Er lebt im Südosten Londons, aber hat seine Wurzeln in Barbados: seine kulturelle Vielfalt spiegelt sich in seiner Musik deutlich wider. Als Absolvent des renommierten Londoner Musikförderprogramm „Tomorrow's Warriors“ war Shabaka Hutchings zunächst vom Hip-Hop der „goldenen Ära", von karibischer Musik und den klassischen Kompositionen beeinflusst, die er in seiner Jugend hörte.

Später wurde er fester Bestandteil des Labels „Brownswood Recordings“, das von dem DJ und Radiomoderator Gilles Peterson betrieben wird. Sein Sound wurde als moderner, experimenteller Gegenpol zu der im Blues verwurzelten amerikanischen Jazztradition gepriesen. Beiden gemeinsam ist die Auseinandersetzung mit den andauernden Diskriminierungen, denen Menschen der afrikanischen Diaspora ausgesetzt sind.

Nach dem Ende seiner Londoner Band „Melt Yourself Down" (2012) gründete Shabaka Hutchings zuletzte die Formationen „Sons of Kemet" und "Shabaka and the Ancestors“ und agiert bei beiden als Bandleader. Zudem bildet er mit dem Keyboarder Dan Leavers und dem Schlagzeuger Max Hallett das Trio „The Comet Is Coming“. In jeder Konstellation tritt er mit seiner Musik in den Dialog mit der Londoner Clubkultur.

Mit „The Comet Is Coming" erhielt Shabaka Hutchings eine Mercury-Preis-Nominierung für das Debütalbum „Channel The Spirits“ im Jahr 2016. Zu seinen weiteren Auszeichnungen gehören der MOBO Award for Best Jazz Act 2013 mit „Sons of Kemet", der Paul Hamlyn Composer Award und der Jazz FM Jazz Innovation Award. 

Weiter lesen